Saturday, August 05, 2006

About the UN Security Council

Just in case you were wondering, here are all the members of the UNSC.
The Council is composed of five permanent members — China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States — and ten non-permament members (with year of term's end):

Argentina (2006) Greece (2006) Qatar (2007) Congo (Republic of the) (2007) Japan (2006) Slovakia (2007) Denmark (2006) Peru (2007) United Republic of Tanzania (2006) Ghana (2007)
Under the terms of the UN Charter, the functions and powers of the Security Council are:

  • to maintain international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the United Nations;

  • to investigate any dispute or situation which might lead to international friction;

  • to recommend methods of adjusting such disputes or the terms of settlement;

  • to formulate plans for the establishment of a system to regulate armaments;

  • to determine the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression and to recommend what action should be taken;

  • to call on Members to apply economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force to prevent or stop aggression;

  • to take military action against an aggressor;

  • to recommend the admission of new Members;

  • to exercise the trusteeship functions of the United Nations in "strategic areas";

  • to recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of the Secretary-General and, together with the Assembly, to elect the Judges of the International Court of Justice.

    The UNSC's home page is here.


    Post a Comment

    Links to this post:

    Create a Link

    << Home